Richard Thornton Award

KYSPRA created the Richard Thornton Award in 2001 to honor the contributions to public education made by Thornton, a long-time KYSPRA member and past president of the National Association of School Public Relations Association. It is presented to an individual or organization for exceptional leadership and dedication to public education in Kentucky.

Past recipients:

  • 2015 Kentucky Valley Cooperative – Appalachian Renaissance Initiative
  • 2012 Brad Hughes, Kentucky School Boards Association
  • 2011 Doug Whitlock, President, Eastern Kentucky University
  • 2010 Cathy Prewitt, District Judge, Whitley & McCreary Counties
  • 2009 Kentucky Teacher Magazine Staff Members
  • 2008 American Printing House for the Blind
  • 2007 Rocky Adkins, State Representative, & Kentucky Dataseam Initiative
  • 2006 Armando Arrastia, Five Oakes Communications
  • 2005 Kentucky Board of Education
  • 2004 Kentucky Charitable Foundation for the Blind
  • 2003 Fran Salyers and Commissioner Gene Wilhoit, KDE
  • 2002 Kentucky School Superintendents

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s